• Kanika Chauhan


Prime Minister Narendra Modi was sworn in on Thursday with a 57 member council of ministers kicking off the Modi government’s second term in office.

This marks the first time in India’s history that a non-Congress led government has returned to power for a second consecutive term after winning a majority. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged 303 seats on its own in the 545 member Lok Sabha in the recently concluded seven phased national polls and with allies in the National Democratic Alliance, they won 353 seats.Modi’s outgoing cabinet had 25 cabinet ministers, 11 ministers of state with independent chare and 34 ministers of state. In this cabinet we get women empowerment in a new way with 6 women cabinet:  Sushma Swaraj, Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani, Uma Bharati, Maneka Gandhi and Harsimrat Kaur Badal.

The outdoor ceremony in the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhawan lasted just over two hours.To  witness Modi’s swearing in were the leaders of Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan besides the president of the Kyrgyz Republic and the prime minister of Mauritius. Congress president Rahul Gandhi, former party president Sonia Gandhi and former prime minister Manmohan Singh also attended the ceremony among other political leaders. Notable among the new faces in the council ministers were Amit Shah, the BJP president and Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, former foreign secretary. 

This time Amit Shah also joined the cabinet with an oath in the rashtriya pati bhavana.Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah on Thursday took oath as a member of the Union council of ministers under Prime Minister Narenda Modi.The options before the BJP is that he could either continue to be the party president while being in the government, or the party could appoint an interim BJP president for six months Shah’s tenure. Senior BJP leaders talk about a third option of holding organisation elections for a new party president, The decision could depend on the upcoming elections in Jharkhand, Maharashtra and Haryana where BJP is incumbent and the party is keen to return to power.

Moreover two prominent faces of BJP  J.P NADDA and BUPENDRA YADAV are also been put in consideration .Both of them are prestigious and generous Bjp leaders that have both experience and willpower . Lets look forward for a formal word from BJP headquarters regarding the president.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram